University of Minnesota



Global Strategic Planning Meeting
on Teacher Training in Human Rights Education

June 2005 - New York, U.S.A.    |    other working sessions
| who    |    goal    |    agenda    |    evaluations    |    blog
regional surveys and reports    |    outcomes    |    other documents
Participants

Click on Last Name for participant bio (also available here)
No. Last First Institution Country Email Phone
1
Assad
Kareem 
ORT Ronson College Co-ordinator
5058/4 st. apt. 1
P.O.B. 6784
Nazareth, 16000
Israel
kassad37@hotmail.com
kassad@ort.org.il
972-4-6465819
972-50-5924504
972-54-5387938 
2
Azar
Zahi 
Secretary General
EPEP Middle East and North Africa
Sourati Street - Chartouni Bldg- 5th Floor
Hamra - Beirut- Lebanon
P.O.Box: 11/1376 Beirut - Lebanon
Lebanon
epep@dm.net.lb
9611752386
9613593000
3
Banks
Dennis
Professor and Chair
Secondary Education Department
SUNY Oneonta
Oneonta, NY 13820
USA
BANKSDN@oneonta.edu
607-436-3391
607-432-5652
4
Bosompem
Samuel
Commission on Human Rights
and Administrative Justice
Old Parliament House
Accra
Ghana
k_bosompem4@yahoo.com
612-203-7717
233-21-668839/41
5
Chin
Kevin 
Ph.D. Student
Department of Educational and Counselling Psychology
Faculty of Education, McGill University
3700 McTavish, Montréal, Québec, H3A 1Y2
Canada
kevin.chin@mail.mcgill.ca
 
6
Choijoo
Altangerel 
Lecturer-Department of Social Science
Room #213
Baga toiruu-14, 210648
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Mongolia
altangerelts@yahoo.com
altangerelch@msue.edu.mn
976-11-322116
7
Coetzee
Lindi 
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University
Senior Lecturer law Faculty
National Co-ordinator Street Law
75 Cromwell Rd
Kamma Park, Port Elizabeth 6070
South Africa
Lindi.Coetzee@nmmu.ac.za
27-833-202-590
27-41-504-2077
8
Hirschfeld
Scott 
Director, Training and Curriculum
Education Division
Anti-Defamation League
823 United Nations Plaza
New York, NY 10017
USA
shirschfeld@adl.org
212-885-7813
9
Horowitz
Alan
Out for Equity
1930 Como Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55108
USA
ALAN.HOROWITZ@spps.org 
651-603-4942
10
Hortsch
Diane
Program Officer & Director of Human Rights Programs
The Third Millennium Foundation
Int'l Center for Tolerance Education (ICTE)
25 Washington Street, 4th Floor
Brooklyn, NY 11201
USA
dhortsch@tmf-tolerance.org
718-237-6262 X112
11
Kaoud
Alaa 
Human Rights Center
University of Minnesota
229 19th Avenue South N120
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Egypt
kaouda@umn.edu
612-626-0041
12
Nazzari 
Vincenza 
Canadian Human Rights Foundation
1425 René-Lévesque Blvd. West
Suite 407
Montréal, Quebec H3G1T7
Canada
vnazzari@yahoo.ca
514-954-0382
Ext. 26
13
Osler
Audrey 
Director
Centre for Citizenship and Human Rights Education
School of Education
University of Leeds LS2 9JT
UK
A.H.Osler@leeds.ac.uk
www.leeds.ac.uk/cchre
44 (0)113 343 4640
14
Pervin
Nargis 
Child Protection Section
UNICEF Bangladesh
BSL Office Complex
1 Minto Road, Dhaka-1000
Bangledesh
npervin@unicef.org
nargispervin@hotmail.com
(8802) 9336701-10
Ext. 379
15
Peterson
Samiha
Chair, Sociology-Anthropology Department
St. Olaf College - Northfield,  MN
USA
peterss@stolaf.edu
507 646 3755
16
Reardon
Betty
Columbia University Teacher College
USA
bar19@columbia.edu
212 663 6468
17
Robinson
Karen
Director, Human Rights Education Program
Amnesty International USA
5 Penn Plaza, 14th Floor
New York, NY 10001
USA
krobinso@aiusa.org
212.633.4270
18
Rodino
Ana Maria
Coordinator, Pedagogical Unit
Inter-American Institute of Human Rights
Researcher and Senior Professor at the Doctoral Program
Education at the Public Distance University (UNED)
Costa Rica
arodino@iidh.ed.cr
 506-234-0404
19
Rudelius-Palmer
Kristi 
Human Rights Center
University of Minnesota
229 19th Avenue South N120
Minneapolis, MN 55455
USA
krp@umn.edu
612-626-7794
20
Stakenas 
Carol 
Program Officer, ICTE Director
Third Millennium Foundation
International Center for Tolerance Education
25 Washington Street, 4th Floor
Brooklyn, NY  11201
www.seedsoftolerance.org 
USA
cstakenas@tmf-tolerance.org
718-237-6262 
21
Stein-Holmes
Rachel
Office of the High Commissioner
for Human Rights
USA
temp4@un.org
rachel_steinholmes@hotmail.com
917-367-9204
646-404-2181
22
Tip
Ilona
EISA
Senior Advisor
Conflict Management, Democracy, Electoral Education
Box 740 Auckland Park, JHB, 2006
South Africa
ilona@eisa.org.za
271, 482-5495
23
Torney Purta
Judith
University of Maryland
USA
24
Waldman
Jessamyn
Lead Partner Program Associate
School for Human Rights
Human Rights Education Associates (HREA)
600 Kingston Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11205
USA
jwaldman@hrea.org
(718) 771-4793
25
Walsh 
Kimberly 
Human Rights Center
University of Minnesota
229 19th Avenue South N120
Minneapolis, MN 55455
USA
hrfellow@umn.edu
612-626-2226
26
Yeban
Felice 
Center for Human Rights and Peace Education
Taft Avenue, 1001 Manila
Philippine Normal University
Phillipines
yeban@compass.com.ph
632-527-0366
632-524-4032
Supporting Conference Attendees
Bellanger Lisa  Human Rights Center
University of Minnesota
229 19th Avenue South N120
Minneapolis, MN 55455
USA azgah@yahoo.com 612-730-8935
Doss
Kelli
YOUTH FRONTIERS
6009 Excelsior Boulevard
Minneapolis, MN 55416
USA
kelli@youthfrontiers.org
1-800-328-4827 X1134
Flowers Nancy Human Rights Education Consultant
124 Jane Drive
Woodside, CA 94062
USA nflowers@sbcglobal.net 650-851-9122
Ippoliti Elena Methodology, Education and Training Unit / RRDB
Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR)
1211 Geneva 10
Switzerland eippoliti@ohchr.org 41 22 9179163
Le Mottee Sherri EISA
Specialist Project Manager
Box 740 Auckland Park, JHB, 2006
South Africa sherri@eisa.org.za (011) 482 5495
Magendzo Abraham  Professor
Interdisciplinary Program of Research in Education (PIIE)
University Academy of Christian Humanism of Santiago
Chile abrahammagendzo@gmail.com  
Pereva Yulia Directorate General IV
Education, Culture and Heritage,
Youth and Sport
Council of Europe
F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex
Europe yulia.pererva@coe.int 33 (0)3 88 41 39 48
Plantilla Jeff HURIGHTS OSAKA,
1-2-1500 Benten 1-chome
Minato-ku, Osaka 552-0007
Japan jeffosk2001@yahoo.com
jeff@hurights.or.jp
(816) 6577-35-78
Sarna Shirley Commission des droits de la personne et des droits de la jeunesse du Québec
Direction de l'éducation et de la coopération
360, rue Saint-Jacques, 2e étage
Montréal (Québec) H2Y 1P5
Canada shirley.sarna@cdpdj.qc.ca 1-800-361-6477
Shiman David Center for World Education
President, United Academics
University of Vermont
USA dshiman@zoo.uvm.edu 802-656-1428 (w)
802-658-1209 (h)
Stoffel Marco  President
Third Millennium Foundation
650 Madison Avenue, 18th Floor
New York, NY  10022
USA stoffelusa@aol.com   
Tibbits Felisa  Main office:
Human Rights Education Associates (HREA)
97 Lowell Road
Concord, MA 01742
www.hrea.org
USA ftibbitts@hrea.org 1 978 341 0200  


Home || Treaties || Search || Links